No quorum as opposition
MPs boycott Parliament

Martin Endjala

National Assembly speaking, Peter Katjivivi had no option but to adjourn the house yesterday because there was no quorum, as opposition parties boycotted the meeting.

The boycott was instigated by the continues absence of Swapo MPs who are on internal party campaigns where the likes of Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila, Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah are battling it out for the VP post, and Finance Minister Iipumbu Shiimi and Information Communication and Technology.

In an interview with the Windhoek Observer, Landless People’s Movement (LPM) Deputy Leader MP Henny Seibeb said that they have been voicing their concerns over the absence of the PM and the Deputy Prime Minister amongst others, but no one seems to care about questions to members of the executive which have been piling up.

“I have been complaining all of this week, Facebook, twitter, even on my status ‘hmm’, but the

speaker chose not to listen, so let them have their own quorum amongst themselves today, because

when we talk, they think we are just making noise and complaining,” Seibeb fumed.

The MP accused the ruling party members of choosing to put first their own ambitions first over the needs of the Namibian people.

Seibeb also took a swipe at the speaker, accusing him of bias and not taking the concerns of the

oppositions serious and take action against the ministers.

He said that the past two months, the speaker has been ‘’lying’’ to them that he has spoken to them and that they will come but they never showed up.

Meanwhile, the National Council MP Paulus Mbangu, expressed his disappointment after hearing of the lack of a quorum in the NA, saying that the government is taking the Namibian people for a ride.

He said the needs of the people supersedes those of the MPs. “Why can they not do their campaigns over the weekends, he argued?

By Observer