EIF hosts Sustainable Development Awards

Staff Writer

The Environmental Investment Fund of Namibia (EIF) hosted this year’s edition of the Sustainable Development awards, which recognizes the outstanding contributions made by Namibians in the field of sustainable development, under the theme “accelerating the green economy transformation as we recover from Covid-19”

This year the awards targeted the private sector and SMEs, community level natural resource management and utilization initiatives, research and development, youth action for sustainable development, pioneering journalism in the field of sustainable development, green banks, school in action for sustainable development, women in action for sustainable development and thought leadership.

Speaking at the event and sharing the overview of the Sustainable Development Awards, Gloria Simubali, Chairperson of the Sustainable Development Advisory Council said “These Awards fits directly to this mandate and the awards seek to reach out to all sectors of society active in promoting sustainable development across the country, including organs of state, non-governmental organisations, community-based organisations, the private sector and funding agencies.”

EIF CEO, Benedict Libanda, highlighted that the awards have grown since the first awards were held in 2015, adding that in total the organizing committee had received 74 applications in total for this third edition of the awards and encouraged all the winners and nominees to continue to lead with deep convictions in the race against the developmental challenges we face today.

Guest of Honor, Minister of Environment, Tourism and Forestry, Pohamba Shifeta said “The transition to a greener economy, based on the most efficient and sustainable use of our natural resources, offers us the opportunity to move out of this crisis and towards a nation that is food, water and energy secure. This will have the knock-on benefits of enhancing climate change resilience, creating decent employment opportunities and reducing income inequality. It is for this reason that the accelerating the green economy transition is key to our development as a nation”

The winners included:

• Private Sector Champions for Sustainable Development with 3 sub-categories for start-ups, Small and Medium Enterprises as well as established companies

Start-ups: Paver Plast SME: Ebikes 4 Africa

Established Companies: Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

• Community level natural resource management and utilization initiatives

Lukas Mandema

• Research and Development to reward outstanding pieces of research or innovations in the field of sustainable development

Professor Daniel Likius (University of Namibia)

• Youth Action for Sustainable Development, which focuses on youth leadership and initiatives in the area of sustainable development

Ms. Toini Amutenya

• Pioneering journalism in the field of sustainable development, which will reward outstanding performance in the areas of best print media, best social media, best radio and best television

Best Television: Mr. Lesley Tjiueza

Best Print: Mr. Absalom Shigwedha

Best Radio: Mr. David Bishop

Women and Environment

Ms. Agnes Tjirare

• Sustainable Schools

Ediva Primary School – Public School

Private School Swakopmund – Private School

• Green Financial Services/Institution

Bank Windhoek

• Thought Leadership

Dr. Mary Seely

Related Posts