Fishcor board appointed

Staff Writer

Minister of Public Enterprises, Leon Jooste, has announced the appointment of a temporary Fishcor board, two months after the previous board term expired.

The Fishcor board, which will serve for six months until January 2021, will be chaired by former Executive Director at the African Development Bank Group, and Communications Regulatory Authority of Namibia board chairperson, Heinrich Mihe Gaomab II. Other board members include Kalahari Holdings Director and Social Security Commission’s Executive Officer, Milka Mungunda.

Former Magistrate, Ruth Herunga, and University of Namibia Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources Head, Dr. Penny Hiwilepo van Hal, are two members of the four member board. The board is expected to appoint a new Acting Chief Executive Officer to replace General Manager Finance, Paulus Ngalangi, whose term ended as Fishcor’s acting boss in May.“They will have to appoint the Acting CEO,” Jooste said.

The board is also expected to bring stability to the troubled government owned fishing company, whose operations are at the centre of the Fishrot scandal , which has seen its Chief Executive Officer , Mike Nghipunya and former Fisheries minister, Bernhard Esau arrested on corruption and money-laundering allegations.

Fishcor is the holding company of Seaflower Whitefish and Seaflower Lobster. Seaflower Lobster is owned fully by Fishcor while Seaflower Whitefish is owned 78 percent by Fishcor and 22 percent by the Governors’ Trust. Seaflower Whitefish operates in the hake industry and has a processing facility in Lüderitz, while Seaflower Lobster is the only company with an operating factory for lobsters in Namibia.

Related Posts