GIPF appoints new leadership for 2024

Hertta-Maria Amutenja

The Government Institutions Pension Fund (GIPF) has officially appointed Penda Ithindi as the Chairperson and Evans Maswahu as Vice-Chairperson of the GIPF Board of Trustees, effective from January 1, 2024, to 31 December 2024.

GIPF Acting Chief Executive Officer, Onno Amutenya made the announcement last week.

Ithindi, renowned for his extensive experience in economics, capital markets and investments, has been a member of the Board of Trustees since 21 August 2020, following an appointment by the government. He served as the Chairperson of the Investment Committee and as a member of the Audit and Risk Committee.

Amutenya said Maswahu was appointed by the Namibia Public Workers’ Union (NAPWU) on 21 July 2020, and he was again reappointed on 21 July 2023 and brings a wealth of experience in public sector leadership, investments and benefits administration.

He will assume the role of Chairperson of the Benefits and Administration Committee and as a member of the Investment Committee.

Amutenya expressed gratitude to the outgoing leadership.

“The Fund extends gratitude to Nillian Mulemi for her exemplary leadership throughout her two-year tenure as the Chairperson of the Board and equally to Faniel Kisting for his exceptional leadership and the considerable knowledge he shared during his one-year tenure as the Vice-Chairperson. Mulemi and Kisting shall continue serving on the GIPF Board of Trustees in different capacities,” he said.

Related Posts