Nedbank Windhoek Power Pedal Race Series Kicks off 2024 Season with Record-breaking Turnout

A staggering 204 cyclists pedaled their way through the opening race of the 2024 Nedbank Windhoek Power Pedal Race Series (WPP) on Sunday morning along the Dordabis Road. This marked the commencement of the six-race series, witnessing a record participation and the introduction of new categories.
The 2024 edition unveiled the mountain bike category, the school team’s category, and the para-athlete category. In the Men’s Team race event, Alex Miller emerged victorious with a remarkable time of 2 hours, 40 minutes, and 32 seconds, closely trailed by Christian Janse van Rensburg and Daniel Abraham.
Meanwhile, the Women’s Team category was fiercely contested, with Melisa Hinz clinching victory by a fraction of a second over Vera Looser. Anri Greef secured the third position.
In the Men’s team rankings, Cymot Racing Team A claimed the lead with 22 points, closely followed by Hollard Insurance and MBM, both accumulating 19 points each. The women’s teams’ competition sees Hollard Ladies at the top with 14 points, MBM following with 11 points, and Cymot Ladies Racing Team securing the third spot with eight points.
WPP representative Nicole Spangenberg expressed delight at the remarkable turnout, emphasizing the event’s inclusive nature. Notably, eight paralympic athletes participated, a feature expected in every future race. Spangenberg stressed the growth of cycling in Namibia and the organizers’ goal to engage individuals from all walks of life in the sport.
Nedbank Namibia Head of Marketing and Communications, Gernot de Klerk, reflected on the success of the event. He highlighted the humbling experience of witnessing a record-breaking number of participants, reaffirming the importance of family and friends joining in the cycling festivities. De Klerk teased upcoming events in the ‘Festival of Cycling,’ including the highly anticipated Nedbank Cycle Challenge.
The Nedbank Windhoek Power Pedal Race Series sets the stage for an exciting and competitive cycling season in 2024.

Related Posts