NPTH appoints subsidiary boards

. . . as Festus Hangula is re-appointed at NamPost

Staff Writer

The Namibia Post & Telecom Holdings (NPTH) has appointed temporary subsidiary Boards for a period of three months, effective 08 July 2020 until 08 October 2020.

NPTH is the 100 percent shareholder of Telecom Namibia Limited (Telecom), Namibia Post Limited (NamPost) and Mobile Telecommunications Ltd (MTC).

“The temporary appointments were based on the required skills blend, individual qualifications, industry expertise and technical knowledge, which factors informed the composition of the said Boards. The skills and experience of these individuals complements the current Boards, which are set for companies that are diversified in their approach to create revenue streams and to further ensure that Shareholder value is maintained,” NPTH Board Chairperson, Sencia Kaizemi-Rukata said.

Nangula Hamunyela will lead the five member NamPost board as Chairperson. Other board members include Muronga Haingura who will deputize Hamunyela, Israel Kalenga, James Cumming and Dr Perien Boer.

This comes as Nampost Chief Executive Officer, Festus Hangula was re-appointed for duration of five years, with effect from 08 July 2020.

The Telecom board will be led by Central Procurement Board of Namibia board member, Jerry Muadinohamba as Chairperson.

Former Telecom Board Chairperson and NamWater Chief Finanacial Officer, Fernando Somaeb will deputize Muadinohamba, with Lawyer Frieda Kishi, Kalahari Holdings Director Elizabeth Asino-Joseph and Shiwana Ndeunyema making up the five member board.

“The composition of the previous Telecom Namibia Board was re-evaluated due to significant governance related issues,” Kaizemi-Rukata said.

Related Posts