President reshuffles Cabinet …as Kashikola gets fired

Niël Terblanché

In an unexpected move, President Hage Geingob has announced a reshuffle of the Namibian Cabinet with the appointment of three distinguished women to serve as Deputy Ministers.

These changes come into effect immediately, reflecting the government’s commitment to improving service delivery and enhancing security measures for the benefit of its citizens and visitors.

Natalia Goagoses will take up the role of Deputy Minister of Higher Education, Technology, and Innovation (MHETI). With a background in education, Goagoses is expected to play a pivotal role in advancing the nation’s higher education sector and spearheading efforts towards embracing the Fourth Industrial Revolution (4IR).

Her appointment re-emphasizes the government’s dedication to equipping the workforce with the necessary skills to thrive in an increasingly technology-driven world.

Similarly, Lucia Witbooi has been named as the new Deputy Minister of Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety, and Security (MHAISS). Working closely with the Minister, Witbooi’s mandate includes improving and expediting service delivery in critical areas and fortifying national security efforts.

Her appointment reflects the government’s unwavering commitment to safeguarding the well-being of its citizens and visitors.

President Geingob has also appointed Eveline Nawases-Tayele as the Deputy Minister of Urban and Regional Development (MURD). Nawases-Tayele’s appointment is expected to contribute significantly to fostering a culture of excellence and efficiency within the Ministry, ultimately leading to improved public service delivery.

In tandem with these appointments, President Geingob has taken the decision to relieve Daniel Kashikola of his duties as Deputy Minister of Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety, and Security (MHAISS).

This change came into effect immediately, and the President expressed his gratitude to Kashikola for his dedicated service during his tenure as Deputy Minister. The President wished him success in his future endeavours.

The new Deputy Ministers are expected to bring fresh perspectives and dedicated leadership to their respective roles, contributing to the nation’s growth and development.

As stipulated in Article 32(6) of the Constitution of the Republic of Namibia, these appointments and changes have been made with immediate effect.

The newly appointed Deputy Ministers will assume their responsibilities to shape a brighter future for the nation.

Related Posts