Southern caucus proud of its victory at PAP

Martin Endjala

The Southern Caucus of the Pan-African Parliament is determined to support the newly elected president of PAP from its midst to validate the slogan of One Africa, One Voice.

President Chief Fortune Charumbira from Zimbabwe was elected last week to head PAP.

The caucus said that they will ensure that the office of the president receives to promote democracy, unity and inclusiveness for all Africans.

This approach the cluster said is part of its efforts to achieve and tackle challenges in the delivery of health services and sanitation.

The group impressed upon Charumbira to lead the PAP in a way that showcases his vast experience that is in the interest of all Africans as well as developing world.

Loide Kasingo Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly who led the Namibian delegation to the Pan-African Parliament asserted the groups focus during a media briefing to update the media about PAP outcomes today at parliament.

After the election of the bureau of PAP, it was ensured that all elections of leadership in different
committees were done on the principle rotation.

“As the Southern caucus, we are thrilled and proud of this victory and to be of historic leadership shift on the continent and will ensure that the plans promised by Chief Charumbira during his campaign are implemented,” said Kasingo.

Amongst these objectives is the strengthening of the institutional capacity of PAP, ensuring that
PAP has adequate financial resources, equal opportunities to all PAP regional caucuses, initiating robust parliamentary programs and policies on youth.

Also among the goals, is to ensure synergies with other African Union institutions, including engagements with member states, as well as lobbying member states on strategic matters such as lobbying member states to ratify the Malabo Protocol.

The Malabo protocol of 2014 seeks to ratify the PAP into an active organ as currently it is only a deliberative organ.

The principle rotation is an established practice of the AU which obliges the union organs and its unions to ensure that each region is selected as a member of the bureau on rotational basis therein stipulated by the outcome of the election.

Therefore, the candidacy for president was limited to the Northern and Southern regional caucuses, who never occupied the post in the past.

However, due to the fact that the Northern caucus did not submit their candidate, Chief Charumbira
became the sole candidate, but no candidate gets the presidency by acclamation, hence Chief
Charumbira had to be elected and eventually emerged as the winner.

Kasingo stressed that there were no losers, saying there were only winners who accepted their positions with grace and dignity.

Namibian Members of Parliament will serve on the following Committees of the Pan African Parliament:
Loide Kasingo – Committee on Cooperation, International Relations and Conflict Resolutions, McHenry Venaani – Committee on Trade, Customs and Immigration Matters, Hamunyera Hambyuka – Committee on Transport, Industry, Communications, Energy, Science and Technology, Bernadus Swartbooi – Committee on Rules, Privileges and Discipline and Gerhard Shiimi – Committee on Rural Economy, Agriculture, Natural Resources and Environment.

Related Posts