ECN kicks out three political parties for not participating in elections

Erasmus Shalihaxwe

The Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) has cancelled the registration certificates of three political parties and six organisations or associations for not participating in past elections.

The Corporate Communications and Marketing Manager of the ECN, De Wet Siluka announced yesterday that the concerned political parties and organisations have been informed in advance about their dismissal. He added that the deregistration was done in accordance with Section 152 read with Section 153 of ECN Act no 5 of 2014.

The deregistered political parties are the Democratic Coalition of Namibia Party, the Federal Convention of Namibia Party and the Namibia Democratic Movement for Change Party.

The organisations and associations that had their registration certificates cancelled are the Otavi Residents Association, the Local Community Association Mariental, the Local Community Association Windhoek, the Ada /Gui-Senior Citizens and Destitute Children’s Association, the Omaruru Residents Association, and the Concerned People’s Association Keetmanshoop.

Related Posts