Swapo inaugurates 34 Think Tank members

Eba Kandovazu

THE Swapo Party today inaugurated its newly restructured Think Tank, consisting of 34 members, serving on a voluntary, non-remunerative basis.

Secretary General, Sophia Shaningwa, says the group was appointed by the Political Bureau (PB) of the Central Committee (CC) on the basis of competency. It will provide evidence-based policy options on political and economic issues. The group will serve from 2021 to 2022.

“It is therefore expected that the Think Tank timeously report to the Secretary General and the Politburo on the outcome of suggested ideas and policies for adoption and action. In the fast changing world, which continuously need strategic changes, the Party should develop a strategy on how to manage a modern mass based political party to address the fast-changing political landscape. The main aim of the Think Tank is therefore to serve as a research arm of the party, which would guide the party in policy formulation,” Shaningwa says.

Andrew Niikondo is Chairperson, deputised by Mokgatle-Aukhumes. Messag Mulunga is Secretary. Other members include Herman Shitaleni, Desderius Shilunga, Frednard Gideon, Carlo McLeod, Eliphas Hawala, Bennett Kangumu, Erwin /Awarab, Mathias Kashindi, Michael Tjivikua, Gottlieb Hinda, Daniel Zaire, Postrick Mushendami, Ivan Pieters, Simon Muyenga, Frans Murangi, Felix Musukubili, Kisco Sinvula, Bisey Uirab, Vincent Likoro, Uazuva Kaumbi, Ndiyakupi Nghituwamata, Frederika Shigwedha, Hallo Angala, Emma Haiyambo, Florette Nakusera, Trudy Hoffman-Geises, Wayera Hausiku, Rauna Namukwambi, Toini Sam, Bience Gawanas and Milka Mungunda.

“As a party, we have less than five months to host our next National Policy Conference, whereby the Think Tank is expected to develop draft policies and research papers for considerations at this important Conference. Therefore, total commitment by the members of the Think Tank is expected, “Shaningwa says.

Related Posts